Skip to content

Independence Celebration

July 8, 2010

My second with Jon, and my second in St. George. Last year we had a load of friends with us, some visiting from out of state, some local. This year it was just the two of us. Last year we found a grassy (itchy) spot on a hill and saw the fireworks from above. This year we set up lawn chairs down in the middle of all the action, where we had huge explosions going off all around us. Last year it took us ages to get off of our hill and back to town. This year we skirted all the major traffic and got back quickly to Jon’s place. Last year Jon didn’t have a place, and this year I’m getting ready to move into his house. Crazy stuff.

I don’t recall what we did last year for food. Probably ate at Pier 49 before the show, but it was some kind of pizza poolside at Jon’s old apartment. This year? We stayed in and cooked. And what better to celebrate the 4th of July than Gołąbki, breaded cauliflower, and sałatka warzywna? (This is what it looked like while being prepared.) And more about Gołąbki, in case you’re into learning about such things. Look, even Emeril is into Gołąbki.

As for the sałatka warzywna? I’ll try to put up the family recipe for that one some time. It was the first time I’d made it totally on my own, and the first time I’d had it this year. Man alive do I like that stuff. There are so many flavors and textures, and yet they all come together in a way that is surprising, happy, and not at all overwhelming. But maybe I am biased. I have this association with Poland and summer when I eat it, so it is tasty nostalgia. But Jon loved it, too. So there you go.

Best of all? Jon liked all of it. Every bit of it. He requested the left over Gołąbki the next night, and we ate up what was left of the salad and cauliflower the next day while hiking to Spry Canyon.

My mom says Jon’s willingness to try (and like) new foods is a sign of a keeper. That, among other things. Jon says he’s mostly over his picky-eater-ness. I like that.

Today he even tried asparagus. (It may not have been his favorite thing on his plate, but he ate it all.)

No comments yet

Leave a comment